Appreciation Post

Good Day Fellow Humans,

I will tell you off the bat that this post will consist of a couple of shoutouts to some people that deserve to be thanked for their help this past week and a half, and a gallery including some pictures. BUT, I will also let you know that I have a favor to ask you as well. As you read this, please think about someone that has been there for you latelysomeone who has had your back, who has picked you up when you’ve been feeling down, who has done something nice for you because they knew you were having a rough day. Be thankful for these people. If you’re feeling up to it, shoot them a text or give them a call. Let them know how much you appreciate having them in your life. Never underestimate how much it means to someone to hear that what they’re doing matters.

I will begin with a story:

Lately I have been feeling rather down and out. I do not know if there is a definite cause, but I can list quite a few things that have been contributing. First and foremost, the weather. Though I love winter, snow, and everything that comes along with it, the brutally cold temperatures and extreme darkness this winter have taken quite a toll on me. Secondly, stress. Between my 18 credits, my position as an RA, my job in the Honors Office, and having many responsibilities to both my family and friends, I have found myself juggling quite a bit. I believe this juggling is also made harder with the exhaustion caused by the weather, and vice versa. Thirdly, general health. I have been battling a cold and migraines the past couple weeks, and they have taken a toll on my mental health as well. WIth all of that being said, the other day I reached my breaking point. I experienced a bit of a meltdown that Emily and Kristyn both had to bear witness to. I was able to come to my senses, and the next day was feeling better, and had hopes of turning around my outlook for the week.

With that being said, I wanted to send out an appreciation post to thank those who have helped me get through these past couple of weeks:

1. My Parents

Some of you may have seen my post about my sister and her boyfriend coming to visit, and how great it was to catch up with them. Some of you may also know that my parents came up the very next day. We were able to go to dinner and spend some quality time together. That same day, I received a Valentine’s Day care package in the mail from them. Nothing brightens my day like care packages or letters in the mail! Needless to say, I am very thankful that my parents take the time to not only send me care packages in the mail, but also visit me whenever they’re coming through town. My family always seems to know what to do to cheer me up; and after a phone call with both my parents this week, I am feeling refreshed and ready to take on the weekend.

2. My Residents

Perhaps they heard me on my bad night, or perhaps they just have some intuition that I don’t know about, but I have come home to three notes in the past week. At the beginning of the year, I held a program called “Buddy Bags”. We all decorated white paper bags to hang outside our doors for people to leave anonymous love. I have come home to chocolate, sticky notes, and a nice letter. They always seem to know when I am struggling, and are lovely individuals that take the time to remind me that I am human too. I am lucky to have the residents that I have, and to come home to a building full of Larzy Love each and every day.

3. My Roommate

Living with an RA can be tough, even when said RA was your best friend the year before. There are a lot of additional rules and expectations. More than anything, it’s challenging when the one person in the hall that is supposed to have it all together completely breaks down. Kristyn handles it as well as anyone, and I don’t know where I would be without her as my roommate and one of my best friends.

4. My Girlfriend

Considering the aforementioned comment about being the roommate of an RA, dating one may be even harder. Considering the fact that I don’t let myself let my guard down around many people, Emily is generally my outlet for most of my bad days. Between being there for the days where I am frustrated or upset to being there for the days that I have killer migraines, she never lets me down. This past week we attended the Honors Ball and celebrated Valentine’s Day, and she helped me out through my rough night and through my awful migraine that decided to visit me today. She has my back through the toughest of times, and I know I always have someone that will take each day by storm with me.

5. My Bestfriend

Alex Barron is a one of a kind guy, and I am very thankful to be able to call him one of my best friends. This past week we were able to go to the Adventure Seminar rock wall and do some rock climbing, bouldering, and slacklining. Alex is always good for helping me remember to take care of myself, and also always great at cheering me up. Some solid bro time was definitely needed, and I’m glad we were able to get it in this week.

Essentially, I wanted to give out some much needed appreciation for the people who have played a major role in helping me keep my head up this past week and a half.

My dear friends, I urge you to reach out to someone who has made an impact on you lately. Maybe it was just by saying hello with a friendly smile on a bad day. Maybe it was them going out of their way to bring you your favorite treat. Maybe they were there for you when you were having a rough time. Let them know. You have the power to change someone’s day in the same way they changed yours. Time is precious, and the people we love and appreciate deserve to know how much they mean to us.

So, smile at strangers, hug your loved ones, and tell someone how much you appreciate them.

Keep your heads up everybody!

Much love,

Randi

Leave a Reply

