Learning to Cook!

I’m not sure if starting off my blog about living life with pictures of food is an appropriate thing to do, but I have decided to do it anyway. (Disclaimer: I am in no way, shape, or form someone that people would consider a cook. My specialties until today had included pizza rolls and tomato soup)

Today was a not so good day for me. I woke up and felt very lethargic. I drank coffee (something I very rarely do), and still felt as if I was going to fall asleep any minute. Needless to say, I was a little grumpy. To make matters worse, one of my classes reiterated how irritated I get with the apparent human necessity to brag about irrelevant accomplishments. I’m all about being proud of the things you have succeeded in, but I don’t feel as though it’s necessary to bring them up every opportunity you get to speak. I digress. I then went to my HST 333 (The History of Michigan) lecture, where I again was reminded of my frustrations with people. There were at least three people that got up and left in the middle of my professor lecturing. If you don’t want to come to class, fine. But, do NOT disrespect the professor by getting up and leaving half way through a lecture. Again, I digress.

So, despite having my grumpy pants on for the day, when I got to work I decided I wanted to try and make it a little better. I shot a text to Emily asking her how she felt about cooking dinner instead of visiting the caf tonight. She agreed that is sounded like a lovely idea, and after I got out of work we headed out to the store to pick up stuff for dinner. I decided on corn fritter pancakes (a recipe that my mom makes and I love), but we both knew we needed some added substance (and protein). It was then that I had my first ever culinary stroke of genius. I picked up eggs, ham, cheese, and Pillsbury crescent rolls. I can give my inspiration for this stroke of genius to Totinos Pizza Rolls and Breakfast Hot Pockets (thank you great gods of easy to make food).

Emily and I made our way back to Larzelere, and spent about an hour making dinner for the two of us. Could I have been more productive tonight? Probably. Did I enjoy the quality time I got to spend with my best friend on a stressful day? Definitely. This was the first time in my life that I enjoyed cooking, and the first time I took a step out of my comfort zone to try to make something new.

I would say it was a perfect way to relax and recharge after a stressful day. Hopefully tomorrow will be a little better, but I’m still thankful for the good that I found in today!

Pictures attached!

Stay lovely my friends.

Corn Fritters!
Corn Fritters!
Scrambled Egg Rolls
Scrambled Egg Rolls
Leave a Reply

